Department of Political Science

College of Letters & Science

Recent News

Professor Kathy Cramer's work featured in Slate. - Katherine J. Cramer

Prof. Kathy Cramer's book, The Politics of Resentment, has been selected as one of seven finalists for the Woodrow Wilson Award for best book on government, politics, or international affairs. - Katherine J. Cramer

Professor Kathy Cramer's book, The Politics of Resentment: Rural Consciousness in Wisconsin and the Rise of Scott Walker, is the recipient of the APSA Qualitative and Multi-Method Research section's award for the best book developing or applying qualitative methods published in 2016. - Katherine J. Cramer

Political Science alum and board of visitors member Amed Khan featured in On Wisconsin for his humanitarian work. -

Professor Kathy Cramer writes about the "great American fallout" in The Guardian. - Katherine J. Cramer

Prof. Ryan Owens in interviewed by Wisconsin Eye about the Supreme Court's actions today. - Ryan Owens

Professor Barry Burden writes about the importance of the Wisconsin Retirement System for keeping our outstanding faculty and staff at UW. - Barry Burden

Ben Toff's dissertation, "The Blind Scorekeepers: Journalism, Polling, and the Battle to Define Public Opinion in American Politics,” won the best dissertation award from the Political Communication Section of the American Political Science Association. -

UW political science major Diana Pavon was selected by the APSA as a Ralph Bunche Summer Institute scholar.   -

Professor Ken Mayer plays “stump the professor” with a group of kindergarten students in his American politics class. - Kenneth R. Mayer

Professor Dave Weimer writes about changing corporate taxation in The Hill. - David L. Weimer

Professor Dave Weimer writes about changing corporate taxation on the blog The Policy Space.  - David L. Weimer

Professor Jon Pevehouse talks about Syria and his Introduction to International Relations course in this Capital Times article.  - Jon C. W. Pevehouse

The Wisconsin in Washington students recently meet with Speaker Paul Ryan (photos by Ben Goodwin) -

Professor Yoshiko Herrera discusses President Trump's ties to Russia on Deutsche Welle. - Yoshiko M. Herrera

The UW Alumni Association announced its Under 40 award recipients for 2017 and 4 of the 8 were PoliSci alumni!  -

Professor Yoshiko Herrera talks about the choice of Jon Huntsman as ambassador to Russia with Sputnik news. - Yoshiko M. Herrera

Professor Owens discusses how a recent Supreme Court decision could "blow a hole through the side of the jurisprudential barn."  - Ryan Owens

Professor David Canon talks about the electoral college on Viewpoints radio. - David Canon

Professor Yoshiko Herrera discusses the possibilities for the next US ambassador to Russia in this Christian Science Monitor story. - Yoshiko M. Herrera