Local navigation

Department Administration

David Canon, Department Chair (email: dcanon@polisci.wisc.edu)

Scott Straus, Associate Chair (email: sstraus@.wisc.edu)

Department Staff

in Room 110 North Hall

Front Desk, General Information, 263-2414 (email: info@polisci.wisc.edu).

Debbie Bakke, Financial Specialist, 265-1167 (email: djbakke@wisc.edu). Purchase requisitions, transmittal forms, faculty research and grant accounts, department S&E, trust fund and student award account maintenance, and purchasing and financial reports.

Joel ClarkCareer and Internship Instructor, 263-2031 (email: jclark24@wisc.edu). Undergraduate career/internship coordinator for the Social Sciences that include majors in Political Science, International Studies, and Sociology.

Ricardo CourtDirector of Undergraduate Studies, 262-5639 (email: court@wisc.edu). Academic advisor for undergraduate political science majors (online scheduler).

Jesse Lynch,  Faculty Support and Payroll Coordinator, 263-2415 .  Department payrolls, department benefits, e-reimbursements, faculty leave accounts, faculty support, travel planning.

Amy GanglUndergraduate Advisor, 263-2028 (email: agangl@wisc.edu). Academic advisor for undergraduate political science majors .

Deb McFarlane, Graduate Program Coordinator, 263-1878 (email: djmcfarlane@wisc.edu). Administrative assistance to Ph.D. program and Associate Chair, coordinates admissions, fellowship competition, TA and grader appointments and payrolls, prelim exams and placement.

Jason Josvai, Department Administrator, 263-1780 (email: jrjosvai@wisc.edu). Manages the administration for the department's operations including personnel, financial and facilities as well as acting as liaison to relevant campus offices.

Beth Shipman, Chair's Assistant, 263-1793 (email: eshipman@wisc.edu). Administrative assistance to the chair including taking calls, sorting mail, keeping calendar; arrangements for department visitors, faculty recruitment and tenure exercises, grant administration, department outreach and fund raising activities. Timetable creation, course registration/enrollment.

Eunsook JungUndergraduate Program Coordinator (email: esjung@wisc.edu), (608) 263-2130.

Information Technology

Beth Tobakos, Department IT Specialist, 265-3681 (email: it@polisci.wisc.edu).

Ken Mayer, Computer Services Committee Chair (email: krmayer@wisc.edu)